Wrestling Sweeps CC Double Meet

Wrestling Sweeps CC Double Meet

COLLEGEVILLE, Pa. – The Ursinus College wrestling team put together strong performances to defeat Centennial Conference foes Gettysburg and McDaniel in a double match at Helfferich Hall.

The Bears (7-3, 2-2) completed a dominating two-team sweep of the Bullets by a score of, 26-13, and the Green Terror, 25-16, to pick up their first CC match victories of the season.

Freshman Collin Wickramaratna continued his first-year campaign with two victories by decision on the day to improve to a team-leading 22-5 record.

Seniors Jarret DiGiantomasso (157) and Patrick Rowe (149) joined Wickramaratna with a pair of wins each. DiGiantomasso picked up a dominating 16-0 technical fall victory at 157 over Gettysburg's Ray Martin. Rowe won his two matches by decision, 11-8 and 10-5.

In the first match, freshman Brady Herr registered an impressive pin of Gettysburg's Mike Iodice at 197. Herr's pin gave the rookie his third pin of the season.

Senior Zachary Goranson at 165 collected a 6-2 win.

In the second match, the Bears cruised past McDaniel. Freshman Gary Nagle at 174 and senior Anthony Cutrufello at 184 each earned decision victories.

Senior heavy William McGinley picked up a win to close out the match.

Ursinus gears up for the Centennial Conference Championships next Saturday at Merchant Marine.


Ursinus 26, Gettysburg 13

125: Hunter Brown (U) won by forfeit

133: Collin Wickramaratna (U) won by decision over Alex Shaffer (G), 13-7

141: Sean Thompson (G) won by decision over Kyle Seibert (U), 9-2

149: Patrick Rowe (U) won by decision over Colin Devlin (G), 11-8

157: Jarret DiGiantomasso (U) won by technical fall over Ray Martin (G), 16-0 (5:27)

165: Zachary Goranson (U) won by decision over Marc Larson (G), 6-2

174: #10 Colin Kowalski (G) won by major decision over Gary Nagle (U), 11-0

184: Dan Ebert (G) won by decision over Anthony Cutrufello (U), 10-6

197: Brady Herr (U) pinned Mike Iodice (G), 5:42

285: #8 Paul Triandafilou (G) won by decision over Theo Vlahos (U), 6-1


Ursinus 25, McDaniel 16

125: Collin Wickramaratna (U) won by decision over Robert Kaminski (MD), 13-4

133: Ryker Eckenberger (MD) won by decision over Brandon Miller (U), 10-2

141: Isaiah Edmond (MD) won by technical fall over Kyle Seibert (U) (1:42)

149: Patrick Rowe (U) won by decision over Skyler Minutelli (MD), 10-5

157: Jarret DiGiantomasso (U) won by decision over Wade Bishop (MD), 7-4

165: Cole Nagle (MD) won by technical fall over Alex Koenig (U) (0:48)

174: Gary Nagle (U) won by decision over Garrett Vanderwalk (MD), 5-0

184: Anthony Cutrufello (U) won by decision over Ronnie Wuest (MD), 6-4

197: Brady Herr (U) won by forfeit

285: William McGinley (U) won by decision over Ethan Wolf (MD), 5-0