Women's Swimming Caps Perfect CC Season

Women's Swimming Caps Perfect CC Season

COLLEGEVILLE, Pa. – The Ursinus College women's swimming team polished off its fifth consecutive undefeated Centennial Conference season with a 103-64 victory over Bryn Mawr in its home finale Saturday.

The 17th-ranked Bears (11-1, 7-0) have won 38 straight conference duals.

Ursinus received contributions up and down its lineup, with no swimmer winning more than one individual event.

The all-senior quartet of Meggie Leitz, Olivia Tierney, Katherine Porter, and Sydney Gundersen opened their last home meet in style with a first-place swim in the 200 medley relay; their time of 1:52.19 was just over half a second clear of juniors Peyten Lyons, Caroline Powell, Clara Baker, and Katherine Madden at 1:52.70.

Sophomore Margrethe Leis won the 200 free with a season-best 2:01.24, just in front of junior Gabriella Timuscuk's 2:01.61 and freshman Haley Sturla's 2:01.83.

Freshman Rebecca Warren nabbed first place in the 50 free with a time of 26.37, with senior Rachel Weil (26.96) in second and freshman Madison McHugh (27.13) in third.

Gundersen marked a new personal best and moved up one spot to fourth in the CC with a 2:13.70 in the 200 IM, more than five seconds ahead of second-place Katelyn Moore.

Baker claimed the 100 fly in 58.89 seconds, while Leitz placed second at 1:00.18.

Lyons' first-place clocking of 55.15 was a new season best for the 100 free. Madden was second in 57.15, and Weil took third at 58.34.

Lillian Oyen-Ustad won the 100 back in 1:01.72 for Bryn Mawr's lone win, edging freshman Sophie May by just .07 seconds.

Freshman Allison Thomas garnered top billing in the 500 free (5:24.49), and Sturla concluded the individual events with a first-place performance in the 100 breast (1:09.66), where Timusck (1:11.42) was second.

Baker, Lyons, May, and Warren capped the meet by winning the 200 free relay in a time of 1:43.13.

The women's swimming team now gears up for the Centennial Conference Championships, which get underway on February 22 at Franklin & Marshall.